Etude House: Face Blur | Review

안녕하세요 everybody,
On my trip to Singapore in July 2016 I did a massive haul at the Etude House in Bugis, which also sold lots of other cute Korean cosmetic brands and clothes. Among the products I bought is a jewel I actually only started using until recently and have been kicking myself for not doing so earlier! The Etude House Face Blur! 
So here I present today to you, my thoughts on the Etude House Face Blur! 

Product Aesthetic

Classic design!



Say what you must about the packaging; it’s too glossy, it’s too girly, it’s childish. But I disagree! To me it’s youthful and it stands for the playfulness that Etude House often promotes ⭐️. The boxing of this product is simple, chic and not overdone. 

The bottle itself is presented in the same way, it feels not too heavy to grab (why would it even be with 35 grams but still). The design of the bottle feels easy on the eyes, the light color scheme makes it very pleasant and peaceful to look at it. 

Both the packaging and bottle feel just right.

“How to apply” & Result


Remember when you are using a product for the first time, gently press the pump a few times until the cream is released. 

The cream is very fluid and when you have it on your hand or make up sponge, I advise you quickly apply or it will be soaked in completely. The cream has a light color and feels light on the skin as well, though it may be runny. 

Distribute the Face Blur cream evenly onto your face, gently rub it in with your fingers as the warmth will help allow your skin to take the cream in more quicker than with a brush. Don’t forget to spread evenly and finally dap the cream in to make sure it doesn’t look like you’ve missed a spot. 

Excuse my skin breaking out.


As you can see in the picture above, my skin has some redness and there are definitely some inefficiencies ㅠㅠ. It is also rough around the edges without the cream. 

This looks better than the first picture.


My skin looks smoother, the color is more even and it does give some sort of a filtered effect in real life! 

Marketing & Claims


The face blur is feels like a spreadable light cc cream in its own right. While I feel it does resemble a cc cream, the face blur is actually marketed as a product of its own league and that is about right to me. While cc creams tend to have lower coverage versus bb creams, cc creams color correct the uneven skin tone. In this case, I feel that the Face Blur smartly evens the skin tone, albeit to a lighter color, and smoothens the skin overall, or at least makes it look that way with a pearly finish ✨. 

The pore hiding might be a bit of a marketing trick to me, you’ll always be granted at least a layer of “make-up” on your skin if you use any cosmetic cream, causing your pores to automatically be “hidden” and clogged if you don’t cleanse well after ㅠㅠ. I don’t have too visible pores but I did not notice this effect too much ㅎㅎ. 

The cream does feel like it makes your skin toned and does give off some sort of filter effect because it feels and looks smooth as it claims. If you don’t experience this, keep in mind to keep your skin clean by cleaning and caring for after using make up, as well as hydrating it properly overnight and giving your skin a break from make up for a few days. If you don’t see the effects immediately, just wait a bit and let it oxidize awhile. 

f(x)’s Krystal is promoting this product!


Price point

The Etude House Face Blur sits comfortably at:

– ₩18.000(Gmarket price)

– $18(official Etude House site)

-€22 (various European resellers)

Though I got mine for about S$30. Personally I think it’s a rather reasonable price, 35 grams does seem like it’s not much for what you’re paying but it’s very doable, you don’t need a lot to keep your day going perfectly. Compared to my MAC Prep & Prime primer, I paid an euro per gram, for the Face Blur you’ll be paying about ₩514 per gram and in US dollars you’ll be paying $0,51 per gram, so that’s quite a change you’ll be saving !

Conclusion

While many people online have established the Face Blur as a primer, I’d like to take it a step further and call it a “primer beyond”. I also use it as a base for potential bb or even cc cream but the cream feels actually quite good on its own on the face. The light texture is where both its strength as well as its weakness lie. It sets up as an excellent base before make up but succeeds well in being the only cosmetic facial product you could use if you’re going out, it blurs the inefficiencies of my skin but as always with these kind of creams there’s no point overusing the product if you have a prominent scar or a pimple it’s not going to blur that properly, that’s a task best left for concealers… Also, for those with a slightly darker skin tone this might be a bit of a difficult product to wear on its own as even for me it does feel a bit light and fair on the skin. Since the Face Blur doesn’t come in additional colors, you could mix it with a bit of your bb cream to even out the color properly ⭐️. If you were still going to use foundation or bb cream after then I assure you the effects would look great !

Score: 8 out of 10

+Very reasonable price (per gram)

+Sleek, simplistic bottle to bring

+Excels at primer and cc cream qualities

-Available in one shade only and may be too light for some 

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you thought this was a useful read and helped you decide on getting this in my opinion great item; if you didn’t think it’s good or didn’t work well for you, let me know I’m curious to hear what you think! 

Don’t forget to watch official Etude House commercial and how to use! Play Etude! 

-Kevin

Leave a Reply

